Mysteries of the Rosary, south ceiling vault
Mysteries of the Rosary, south ceiling vault, installed 1916 (1999 photo)

Mysteries of the Rosary

The fifteen mysteries of the rosary divide into three sets of five: the joyful mysteries, the sorrowful mysteries, and the glorious mysteries. Each mystery recalls an important event in the lives of Mary and Jesus. Sargent saw the act of praying the rosary, in which the beads determine the order of prayers, as an externalized form of ritual prayer rather than a spontaneous gesture of subjective spirituality.
The Triumph of Religion